Basic White Girl Thanksgiving Treats

Good evening all! So I figured with the holidays approaching us I would make a festive treat. Therefore what did a basic sorority girl like myself come up with? Pumpkin Spice Rice Krispie Treats of course! I found this recipe on pinterest and I thought I would give it a test run before I brought it to Thanksgiving.

You will need,

  • 4 cups mini marshmallows
  • 6 cups rice krispie cereal
  • ½ tsp. cinnamon
  • ½ tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • ¼ cup pumpkin puree
  • 3 Tbsp. butter
  • 9×13 baking sheet

The first thing to do that is super crucial make sure you pat the pumpkin puree with paper towels and let it sit for about 45 minutes. This is because the pumpkin is super moist and you want to dry it out as much as possible.

You will then want to take a large saucepan and melt the butter in it on medium heat. Once the majority of the butter is melted, then pour in the marshmallows. Once this mixture is melted then add in the cinnamon and pumpkin spice and the pumpkin puree. Stir until it is thoroughly mixed together and then add the rice krispies.

You will need a little arm power with mixing this, and do it fairly fast. Make sure that the baking sheet is close by and lightly grease it. Once this is done, spread the mixture into the pan. This is a little tricky just because it will want to stick to the spoon but just pat really hard and will work. Then just let sit and cool for about ten minutes.

I will just go ahead and say that this recipe did not work out too well for me. They turned out really moist and not as Krispy haha. I think this was just because I did not set the pumpkin puree out for 45 minutes; I just lightly patted it with paper towels. That’s why I mentioned it was crucial to dry it out. I also made double because my first batch didn’t cover the entire pan. So it was definitely an experiment for me, and I hope yall have better luck than me.

That’s all for now guys, Happy Thanksgiving!

indexiendextindexirndex

Leave a comment